Caloundra Electorate Community Awards shine bright for another year

State Member for Caloundra Mark McArdle today announced the official opening of nominations for the seventh annual Caloundra Electorate Community Awards.

The awards, which are hosted by Mr McArdle and sponsored by Caloundra RSL Services Club, Caloundra Community Bank Branch of Bendigo Bank and Henzells Agency, are about recognising the best of the best in the Caloundra community.

2018 Community Award Winners

2018 Community Award Winners

“We are half way through another year but I always look forward to July because it officially marks the opening of the Community Awards. With each year I am increasingly inspired by the stories that accompany the nominations,” Mr McArdle said.

“There are so many dedicated people and organisations who add to the richness of our electorate which extends from Caloundra out to the Hinterland. We need the community’s help to shine a light on those working hard behind the scenes by completing a nomination today.”

Cathy Stamp, President of the Caloundra RSL Services Club said the club has been involved with the awards from the beginning because it is a great way to promote and recognise the work of volunteers in Caloundra.

“Volunteers are an integral part of the community and without them many services would cease to exist,” Mrs Stamp said.

“It is also a wonderful incentive and reward for those who are nominated.”

Bendigo Community Bank Branch manager, Pip Fawcett, says it is often the quiet achievers that are among the most unsung heroes of our local community.

“We all know that person who goes above and beyond. They’re the ones that don’t look for recognition or honour. Now is the time to shine the light and give thanks for their selfless dedication.

“The nomination process isn’t onerous so let’s make this the biggest year yet. Nominate today,” Ms Fawcett said.

"As a local business it is important to the Henzells team that we invest in the local community so it is a pleasure to be part of such a well-deserving event for another year,” said Katherine Allen, Operating Manager of Henzells Agency.

“These Awards provide an important forum to acknowledge the contribution that each nominee makes to our way of life.”

“Remember, it isn’t just about the nominees and the winners but also everyone who takes the time to nominate. I strongly encourage the community to help recognise businesses, community groups and outstanding individuals doing important work here in Caloundra,” Mr McArdle concluded.

Award categories include:

• Young Achiever of the Year

• Young Sport Achiever of the Year

• Sport Achiever of the Year

• Environmental Contributor of the Year

• Community Volunteer of the Year

• Community Group of the Year

• Community Event of the Year

• Business Achiever of the Year

• Caloundra Hall of Fame Identity

Nominations close Friday, 27 September. Nomination forms can be collected from Mark McArdle’s Electorate Office, or by phoning 5329 4100 or alternatively can be completed online at .

The Awards will be presented on Friday, 11 October at the CCSA Hall, 1 Nutley St, Caloundra.